The Homeland Security Experts Group (HSEG) is an independent, nonpartisan group of homeland security policy and counter-terrorism experts who convene periodically to discuss issues in depth, share information and ideas with the Secretary of Homeland Security, government agencies and policymakers, increase awareness of the evolving risks facing our nation, and help make our country safer. The HSEG is co-chaired by former Secretary of Homeland Security Michael Chertoff and former Congresswoman Jane Harman.


The group works to put on the annual Homeland Security Enterprise Forum, with a mission to bring voices of United States government agencies, the private sector, and civil-society all together in one summit to engage in meaningful, solutions-focused dialogue. The forum showcases how multi-disciplinary the homeland security enterprise space truly is.

SPecial Thanks

We would like to offer special thanks to members of the forum steering committee, who provided valuable insights and input on strategy.

Jane Harman, Co-Chair

President Emerita Woodrow WilsonInternational Center for Scholars Former Representative 36th Congressional District of California

Kirstjen Nielsen

Secretary of Homeland Security (2017-2019)
President, Lighthouse Strategies

Michael Chertoff, Co-Chair

Secretary of Homeland Security (2005-2009)
Executive Chairman and Co-founder The Chertoff Group

Charlie Allen

Principal, The Chertoff GroupFormer Under Secretary of Homeland Security for Intelligence and Analysis

Juan Zarate

Global Co-Managing Partner K2 Integrity Deputy National Security Advisor (2005 – 2009)

Bob Rose

Founder and President Robert N. Rose Consulting Senior Advisor, The Chertoff Group

Stewart Baker

Partner, Steptoe & Johnson LLP
Former Assistant Secretary of Homeland Security for Policy

Jessica Stern

Former Director for Russian, Ukrainian, and Eurasian Affairs National Security Council Research Professor, Pardee School, Boston University

Jim Loy

Former Commandant United States Coast Guard Senior Counselor, Cohen Group

David Heyman

Former Assistant Secretary of Homeland Security for Policy President & CEO, Smart City Works

Starnes E. Walker

Former Director of Research-DHS
Executive Director-Office of Naval Research
Chief Technology Officer & Technical Director-U.S. Fleet Cyber Command

Yosry Barsoum

Vice President and Director Homeland Security Systems Engineering and Development Institute, MITRE

Connie LaRossa

National Security Policy, Google

Robert Walker

Executive Director, Homeland Security Experts Group (HSEG)

Sarah Elzeini

CEO, SMZ International Group

Bill Evanina

Former Director, National Counter intelligence and Security Center
Founder and CEO, The Evanina Group